EcoHome magazine and its parent company, Hanley Wood Business Media, along with The Hanley Foundation recently announced the launch of a new awards program that will honor individuals who have contributed to the advancement of sustainable housing in the United States through extraordinary, lasting, and far-reaching ways.

The first annual Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing will be presented at the USGBC Hanley Award Dinner during the U.S. Green Building Council's 2009 Greenbuild International Conference and Expo, to be held in Phoenix this November. The winner will receive a $50,000 cash prize and will be featured on the cover of EcoHome magazine, at, and in the EcoHome Update e-newsletter.

A nominating committee of 12 noted industry leaders will submit names for consideration by a judging panel in June 2009. The members of the nominating committee are: Alex Wilson, executive editor, BuildingGreen; Nate Kredich, vice president of residential market development, USGBC; Denise Dersin, editor, BUILDER magazine; Douglas L. Seiter, U.S. Department of Energy's Energy Efficiency Projects division; David Johnston, founder and president, What's Working; Mark LaLiberte, Building Knowledge; Kevin Gobble, Habitat for Humanity's construction technology department; Claire Conroy, editorial director, residential architect and CUSTOM HOME magazines; Mike Hodgson, president, ConSol; Sandra Mendler, AIA, LEED AP, principal, Mithun; Kathleen O'Brien, LEED AP, principal, O'Brien & Co.; Eric Borsting, chair of the National Association of Home Builders' Green Building subcommittee; and Dennis Creech, LEED AP, executive director, Southface Energy Institute.

Eligible nominees for The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing are residential construction industry professionals, or those working in technical research, product development, educational outreach, environmental advocacy, governmental policy, and related areas who have made deep and long-standing commitments to sustainability, have influenced the industry, and have made significant and lasting contributions to the widespread implementation of environmental building concepts, techniques, and innovations in advancing sustainable housing in the U.S.

Serving as judges will be Michael J. Hanley, co-founder and former CEO, Hanley Wood, and president, The Hanley Foundation; Frank Anton, CEO, Hanley Wood; Steven Winter, FAIA, president, Steven Winter Associates; Sarah Susanka, FAIA, Susanka Studios; and Allison Ewing, AIA, LEED AP, principal, Hays + Ewing Design Studio.