Rosa Parks Apartments

Chicago, IL United States

Landon Bone Baker Architects

 

Project Description

2011 RADA

Affordable / Merit

The Rosa Parks Apartments complex is far from the average affordable project, mainly because Landon Bone Baker Architects infused it with thoughtful design and user-friendly unit plans. One judge liked that it’s “very quiet and understated.” Each of the eight buildings in the project is highlighted by precast exterior walls with 6 inches of blown in fiberglass. Colorful bays animate the street, while the largest building—a four-story, 27-unit structure—features solar hot water, geothermal heating, and a heat recovery system for the kitchen and bath exhausts. It is seeking LEED Gold certification.

 

Project Details

Rosa Parks Apartments
Location:
Shared by:
 
Project Team:
    Peter Landon, Principal In Charge / Project Architect.
Consultants:
  • General Contractor: Joy Aruguete 
  • Developer: Joy Aruguete 
  • Mep Consultant: John Katrakis 
  • Landscape Architect: Mimi McKay 
  • Photography: Andreas Eg Larsson 
 
 

Specified Products

Bathroom And Kitchen Cabinets: Armstrong, www.armstrong.com; Bathroom Fittings: Gerber Plumbing, www.gerberonline.com, Moen, www.moen.com; Bathroom Fixtures: Bootz Industries, www.bootz.com, Mansfield, www.mansfieldplumbing.com; Countertops: Wilsonart, www.wilsonart.com; Doors: Curries, www.curries.com, Graham Doors, www.grahamdoors.com, Pittco, www.pittcometals.com; Flooring: Guoya Bamboo, www.guoyabamboo.com, Mohawk Group, www.mohawkgroup.com, Shaw, www.shawfloors.com; Hardware: Adams Rite, www.adamsrite.com, Cal-Royal, www.cal-royal.com, Hager, www.hagerco.com, Ives, www.iveshardware.com, LCN, www.lcnclosers.com, Schlage, www.schlage.com, Von Duprin, www.vonduprin.com; Hvac Equipment: Goodman, www.goodmanmfg.com; Insulation: Johns Manville, www.jm.com; Kitchen Fittings: Gerber Plumbing, www.gerberonline.com; Kitchen Fixtures: Elkay, www.elkay.com; Lighting Fixtures: Air King, www.airkinglimited.com, Cooper Lighting, www.cooperlighting.com, RAB Lighting, www.rabweb.com, Sea Gull Lighting, www.seagulllighting.com, Spaulding Lighting, www.spauldinglighting.com, Xenon Architectural Lighting, www.xal.com; Oven and Refrigerator: GE, www.ge.com; Paints/Stains/Wall Finishes: PPG Pittsburgh Paints, www.ppgpittsburghpaints.com; Roofing: GAF, www.gaf.com; Solar Energy System: Solar Services, www.solarservices.com; Windows: Climate Guard, www.climateguardproducts.com

 
 

Comments

Please read our Content Guidelines before posting.

Similar Projects

  • 28th Street Apartments

    Los Angeles, California, United States

    Koning Eizenberg Architecture

  • The Elysian

    Los Angeles, California, United States

    David Lawrence Gray, FAIA

  • Rockaway Rising

    Queens, New York, United States

    Dattner Architects,Starr Whiehouse Landscape Architects and Planners

 

Other Great Lakes Projects