Lofts at Cherokee Studios

Los Angeles, CA United States

Brooks + Scarpa

 

Project Description

2011 RADA

Multifamily / Merit

The movable, perforated metal skin of this 12-unit, mixed-use building in Los Angeles captured the judges’ attention. “It’s very elegant,” said one juror. “A very nice solution.” Architecture firm Brooks + Scarpa devised the owner-controlled, bifold aluminum panels as a way of increasing the project’s engagement with the street, from various points of view. “As you move past it at different speeds—walking and in the car—you get a different perception of the façade,” says principal Lawrence Scarpa, FAIA. The skin also provides shading and privacy while allowing natural light, fresh air, and views.

 

Project Details

Lofts at Cherokee Studios
Location:
Shared by:
 
Firm Name:
Project Team:
    Lawrence Scarpa, Principal In Charge
Consultants:
  • Project Architect: Stephanie Ericson 
  • General Contractor: Brian Crommie 
  • Developers: Steve Edwards 
  • Developers: Greg Reitz 
  • Mechanical Engineer: Albert Bicol 
  • Structural Engineer: John Pao 
  • Photography: John Edward Linden 
 
Project Scope:
Project Type:
Room Or Space:
Project Status:
 
 

Specified Products

Appliances: Bertazzoni, www.bertazzoni.com, Bosch, www.bosch-home.com, Fagor, www.fagoramerica.com, GE, www.geappliances.com, InSinkErator, www.insinkerator.com; Bath and Plumbing Fixtures: American Standard, www.americanstandard-us.com, Bobrick, www.bobrick.com, Chicago Faucets, www.chicagofaucets.com, Delta, www.delta.com, Grohe, www.grohe.ca, Kohler, www.kohler.com, TOTO USA, www.totousa.com; Carpet: Mohawk Flooring, www.mohawkflooring.com; Countertops: Caesarstone, www.caesarstoneus.com; Doors: Anemostat Door Products, www.anemostat.com, McKeon Door Co., www.mckeondoor.com, Nationwide Industries, www.nationwideindustries.com, Timely, www.timelyframes.com, TM Cobb, www.tmcobb.com, Total Door Systems, www.totaldoor.com, Steelcraft Manufacturing, www.steelcraft.com; Elevators: ThyssenKrupp, www.thyssenkrupp.com; Flooring: Armstrong, www.armstrong.com, Walker Zanger, www.walkerzanger.com; Glazing: PPG, www.ppg.com; Hardware: Elmes, www.elmesworld.com, Ives, www.iveshardware.com, Johnson Hardware, www.johnsonhardware.com, LCN, www.lcnclosers.com, Monarch, www.monarchhardware.com, Pemko, www.pemko.com, Rixson, www.rixson.com, Schlage, www.schlage.com, Trimco, www.trimcobbw.com; HVAC Equipment: Mitsubishi, www.mehvac.com; Insulation: Johns Manville, www.jm.com; Lighting Fixtures: Bega, www.bega-us.com, Belfer, www.belfer.com, Capri Lighting, www.caprilighting.com, Delray Lighting, www.delraylighting.com, Halo, www.haloltg.com, Lightway, www.lightwayind.com, Lutron, www.lutron.com, Presolite, www.prescolite.com, Prudential Lighting, www.prulite.com, Shaper Lighting, www.shaperlighting.com, Stonco, www.stonco.com; Masonry: Angeles Block Co., www.angelesblock.com; Paints/Stains/Wall Finishes: AFM Safecoat, www.afmsafecoat.com, Dunn-Edwards, www.dunnedwards.com; Roofing: APOC, www.apoc.com, CertainTeed, www.certainteed.com, GAF, www.gaf.com; Skylights: Bristolite, www.bristolite.com, Solatube, www.solatube.com; Solar: Kyocera, www.kyocerasolar.com; Tile: Daltile, www.daltile.com; Windows: Fleetwood, www.fleetwoodusa.com, Milgard, www.milgard.com, United States Aluminum Corp., www.usalum.com; Wood: Weyerhaeuser, www.weyerhaeuser.com

 
 

Comments

Please read our Content Guidelines before posting.

Other Multifamily Projects

  • 28th Street Apartments

    Los Angeles, California, United States

    Koning Eizenberg Architecture

  • The Elysian

    Los Angeles, California, United States

    David Lawrence Gray, FAIA

  • Rockaway Rising

    Queens, New York, United States

    Dattner Architects,Starr Whiehouse Landscape Architects and Planners

 

Other Pacific Projects