LC Ranch

Three Forks, MT United States

lake|flato architects

 

Project Description

2010 RADA

Custom / More than 3,000 square feet / Merit

Lake|Flato Architects kept two regional precedents in mind when designing this Montana getaway. The earth-sheltered sod houses of the Great Plains pioneers intrigued them, as did the classic wooden barn. “We try to take notice of how people lived on the land before,” says David Lake, FAIA.

He and fellow design team members Bill Aylor, AIA, and Trey Rabke opted to stretch the house along its dramatic site, nestling the sleeping quarters into a hillside to protect it from sun and wind. Similarly, a separate guesthouse/garage is carved into the earth. Between these two hunkered-down, sod-roofed elements lies the home’s main public space, a barnlike building with a porch at either end. It holds a kitchen, living room, and dining room, and oversized glass sliding doors let the owners open it up to the site when the weather allows.

 

Project Details

LC Ranch
Location:
Shared by:
 
Firm Name:
Consultants:
  • General Contractor: Ron Adams, Jared Brown. 
  • Interior Designer: Madeline Stuart. 
  • Design Team: David Lake. 
  • Photography: David Lake 
 
Project Scope:
Project Type:
Room Or Space:
Project Status:
Project Size:
    4,055 sq ft
 
 

Specified Products

Bathroom and Kitchen Cabinets: Yellowstone Traditions www.yellowstonetraditions.com; Bathroom Fittings: Brasstech www.newportbrass.com, Hansgrohe www.hansgrohe-usa.com, Waterworks www.waterworks.com; Bathroom Fixtures: Julien www.julien.ca, TOTO USA www.totousa.com; Dishwasher, Oven/Range, Refrigerator: Viking Range Corp. www.vikingrange.com; Doors, Windows: Dynamic Architectural Windows & Doors www.dynamicwindows.com; Flooring (Ceramic Tile/Stone/Concrete): MS Building Services www.msconcrete.com; Garbage Disposer: In-Sink-Erator www.insinkerator.com; Hardware: Rocky Mountain Hardware www.rockymountainhardware.com; Insulation: Icynene www.icynene.com; Kitchen Fittings: Blanco www.blancoamerica.com, The Chicago Faucet Co. www.chicagofaucets.com; Kitchen Fixtures: Elkay USA www.elkay.com, Julien www.julien.calighting fixtures: Alkco Lighting www.alkco.com, BEGA/US www.bega-us.com, Belfer Group www.belfergroup.com, B-K Lighting www.bklighting.com, Circa Lighting www.circalighting.com, Columbia Lighting www.columbialighting.com, Crescent/Stonco www.stoncolighting.com, d'ac Lighting www.daclighting.com, Lighting Services Inc www.lightingservicesinc.com, Lucifer Lighting Co. www.luciferlighting.com, Winona Lighting (Windirect) www.winonalighting.com; Paints/Stains/Wall Finishes: Benjamin Moore & Co. www.benjaminmoore.com; Roofing: American Hydrotech www.hydrotechusa.com; Washer/Dryer: Whirlpool Corp. www.whirlpool.com

 
 

Comments

Please read our Content Guidelines before posting.

Other Custom Projects

 

Other Mountain Projects