Hancock Mixed-Use

West Hollywood, CA United States

Koning Eizenberg Architecture

 

Project Description

2010 RADA

Multifamily / Merit

This West Hollywood, Calif., project combines an impressive mix of uses in less than an acre. Architects Julie Eizenberg, AIA, and Hank Koning, FAIA, LEED AP, managed to weave 31 condominiums, seven affordable housing units, ground-floor retail, and more than 75,000 square feet of parking into an oddly shaped corner lot. "All this parking is worked into the project, but it doesn’t turn its back to the street," marveled one judge.

Part of the developer’s deal with the city was that the project would include public parking, so the architects tucked it underground and behind the ground-floor portions of the four-story building. They layered the residential parking over and behind the street-facing housing units, using wood screens strategically to hide the cars from public view.

The jury also admired the way material changes mark the transition from flats and retail to townhomes and studios. The former uses sliding wood shutters, while the latter features corrugated metal. "The street had so much expedient stucco," Eizenberg says. "We wanted to add texture."

 

Project Details

Hancock Mixed-Use
Location:
Shared by:
 
Project Team:
    Hank Koning,Julie Eizenberg, Principals In Charge; Oonagh Ryan, Project Architect.
Consultants:
  • Job Captain: Paul Miller 
  • Project Manager: Oonagh Ryan 
  • Developer: John Given 
  • General Contractor: Jeff Lee 
  • Landscape Architect: David Fletcher 
  • Photography: Eric Staudenmaier 
 
 

Specified Products

Bathroom Cabinets: DuPont (Corian) www.corian.com, 3form USA www.3-form.com; Bathroom and Kitchen Fittings, Kitchen Fixtures: Kohler Co. www.kohler.com; Bathroom Fixtures: DuPont (Corian) www.corian.com, Kohler Co. www.kohler.com; Cooktop, Dishwasher, Oven/Range: Miele www.miele.com; Countertops: DuPont (Corian) www.corian.com; Doors, Windows: Torrance Steel Window Co. www.torrancesteelwindow.com; Exterior Siding: Metal Sales Manufacturing Corp. www.metalsales.us.com, Tata Enterprises (Mangaris) www.tataenterprises.net, U.S. Architectural Products (Cem-Clad) www.architecturalproducts.com; Flooring (Ceramic Tile/Stone/Concrete): Dal-Tile Corp. www.dalTile.com; Flooring (Wood): Mohawk Industries www.mohawkflooring.com; Garage Doors: Arm-R-Lite www.arm-r-lite.com; Garbage Disposer: In-Sink-Erator www.insinkerator.com; Hardware: Adams Rite Manufacturing Co. www.adamsrite.com, Corbin Russwin www.corbinrusswin.com, Crown Industrial www.crown-industrial.com, Häfele America Co. www.hafele.com/us/, Pemko Manufacturing Co. www.pemko.com, RIXSON Specialty Door Controls www.rixson.com, Rockwood Manufacturing Co. www.rockwoodmfg.com, Stanley Hardware www.stanleyhardware.com, Triangle Brass Manufacturing Co. (Trimco) www.trimcobbw.com/door-hardware/;

HVAC Equipment: Allied Air Enterprises (Armstrong Air) www.armstrongair.com, First Co. Products www.firstco.com, Krueger www.krueger-hvac.com, Seiho International www.seiho.com; Insulation: Johns Manville www.jm.com; Kitchen Cabinets: Marina Woodcraft marinawoodcraftinc.com; Lighting Fixtures: American Fluorescent Corp. www.americanfluorescent.com, Delray Lighting www.delraylighting.com; Paints/Stains/Wall Finishes: Dunn-Edwards Corp. www.dunnedwards.com; Refrigerator: Jenn-Air www.jennair.com; Roofing: Sika Sarnafil www.sarnafilus.com; Skylights/Roof Windows: Bristolite Skylights www.bristolite.com

 
 

Comments

Please read our Content Guidelines before posting.

Similar Projects

 

Other Pacific Projects