Butler College Dormitories

Princeton, N.J., NJ United States

Pei Cobb Freed & Partners architects

 

Project Description

2011 RADA

Campus Housing / Merit

Surrounded by brick buildings in varying colors, these dormitories are the centerpiece that ties them all together. Limestone striations create light and shadow and hark back to Princeton’s old stone buildings. The façades’ random undulations, suggesting the bays that made the early dorms so special, were inspired by the need for larger suites that would keep upper-classmen on campus. “We wanted to create a quality that was distinctive and desirable, and because they’re so irregular, no two are quite alike,” says Michael W. Bischoff, LEED AP BD+C.

 

Project Details

Butler College Dormitories
Location:
Shared by:
 
Project Team:
    Henry N. Cobb, Michael W. Bischoff, Principals In Charge
Consultants:
  • General Contractor: Nick Caputo 
  • Landscape Architect: Michael Van Valkenburgh 
  • Developer: Mark Burstein 
  • Photography: William Taylor 
  • Interior Designer: Henry N. Cobb 
  • Interior Designer: Michael W. Bischoff 
 
Project Scope:
Project Type:
Project Status:
Project Size:
    112,000 sq ft
 
 

Specified Products

Bathroom Fittings: American Standard, www.americanstandard-us.com, Bobrick, www.bobrick.com, Delta, www.deltafaucet.com; Bathroom Fixtures: American Standard, www.americanstandard-us.com, Fiat, www.fiat.ca; Countertops: PaperStone, www.paperstoneproducts.com; Flooring (Carpet): Bentley Prince Street, www.bentleyprincestreet.com; Hardware: Best Access Systems, www.bestaccess.com, Von Duprin, www.vonduprin.com; Insulation: CertainTeed, www.certainteed.com, Roxul, www.roxul.com; Kitchen Cabinets: Kraftmaid, www.kraftmaid.com; Kitchen Fittings: American Standard, www.americanstandard-us.com; Kitchen Fixtures: American Standard, www.americanstandard-us.com, Elkay, www.elkay.com; Lighting Fixtures: Bega Lighting, www.bega-us.com, Erco, www.erco.com, Illuminating Experiences, www.illuminatingexperiences.com, Louis Poulsen, www.louispoulsen.com; Oven: GE, www.ge.com; Paints/Stains/Wall Finishes: Benjamin Moore, www.benjaminmoore.com, Donald Kaufman Color, www.donaldkaufmancolor.com; Refrigerator: Whirlpool, www.whirlpool.com; Windows: Skyline Windows, www.skylinewindows.com

 
 

Comments

Please read our Content Guidelines before posting.

Similar Projects

  • 28th Street Apartments

    Los Angeles, California, United States

    Koning Eizenberg Architecture

  • The Elysian

    Los Angeles, California, United States

    David Lawrence Gray, FAIA

  • Rockaway Rising

    Queens, New York, United States

    Dattner Architects,Starr Whiehouse Landscape Architects and Planners

 

Other Mid-Atlantic Projects