Bubeshko Apartments

Los Angeles, CA United States

 

Project Description

2010 RADA

Restoration / Preservation / Merit

In restoring this two-building apartment complex by the Southern California modernist Rudolph Schindler, architect Eric Haas, AIA, drew two very lucky cards. While worn and altered, the original buildings were essentially intact. More remarkable, one of the original owners, who had developed the property starting in 1938, was still alive. The owner’s memories—along with original drawings and project files—led Haas in a restoration that’s both correct and sympathetic to Schindler’s spirit of practicality and economy.

Haas investigated the subtle, muted color schemes unique to each of the five apartments, experimenting with shellac and Japan colors to restore Schindler’s trademark stained plywood surfaces. The latter were rubbed with beeswax, Haas says, because “Schindler generally hated anything shiny.”

Our judges praised Haas’ fidelity to the original, deeming his approach “almost archaeological.” The result turns the clock back 70 years, “and for a very modest $30 per square foot.”

 

Project Details

Bubeshko Apartments
Location:
Shared by:
 
Project Team:
    Eric Haas, Principal In Charge / Project Architect.
Consultants:
  • General Contractor: Owner 
  • Landscape Designer: Thaya duBois 
  • Photography: Grant Mudford 
 
Project Scope:
Project Type:
Project Status:
Project Size:
    5,020 sq ft
Construction Cost:
    $150,600
 
 

Specified Products

Bathroom Fittings: Speakman Co. www.speakmancompany.com; Bathroom Fixtures: American Standard www.americanstandard-us.com; Cooktop: Thermador www.thermador.com; Countertops: Dal-Tile Corp. www.daltile.com], Yemm & Hart www.yemmhart.com; Dishwashers: ASKO North America www.askousa.com, Jade Appliances www.jadeappliances.com; Flooring(Ceramic Tile/Stone/Concrete): American Universal Corp. auc-tile.com, Dal-Tile Corp. www.daltile.com; Flooring (Linoleum): Armstrong World Industries www.armstrong.com; Garbage Disposer: In-Sink-Erator www.insinkerator.com; Hardware: Schlage Lock Co. www.schlage.com; HVAC Equipment: Cadet Manufacturing www.cadetco.com, Gordon R. Williams Corp. www.williamshvac.com; Lighting Fixtures: Besa Lighting Co. www.besalighting.com; Ovens/Ranges: Bosch Home Appliances www.bosch-home.com, Thermador www.thermador.com; Paints/Stains/Wall Finishes: Benjamin Moore & Co. www.benjaminmoore.com, T.J. Ronan Paint Corp. www.ronanpaints.com; Refrigerators: Avanti Products www.avantiproducts.com, Fisher & Paykel Appliances usa.fisherpaykel.com

 
 

Comments

Please read our Content Guidelines before posting.

Other Custom Projects

 

Other Pacific Projects