Public voting will represent the seventh juror in selecting the 2012 winner of the George Matsumoto prize for new modernist house design. Anyone can vote for their favorite house from among the 19 submissions accepted for program’s inaugural year. Voting closes at 5 p.m. EST on July 22. The winning architects or designers will receive a cash prize and be recognized at an awards dinner Aug. 2 at the AIA North Carolina Center for Architecture and Design.

Named after one of the founding professors at North Carolina State University’s architecture school, the George Matsumoto Prize is open to architects and designers from anywhere in the world who have designed a new, single-family modernist house in North Carolina that was completed after Jan. 1, 2006. Matsumoto will chair the jury, joined by several award-winning architects from across the country: Marlon Blackwell, Fayetteville, Ark.; Frank Harmon, Raleigh, N.C.;  David Jameson, Alexandria, Va.; Tom Kundig, Seattle; and Larry Scarpa, Los Angeles.

Vote for your favorite house here.