Celebrating 54 years of great architecture, the annual AIA Honolulu Design Awards has been around longer than Hawaii has been a state. The program honors the best projects of any building type that are designed by AIA Honolulu members. The 2012 winners include one on the boards and three completed residences, which are shown along with jury comments and project details in the accompanying slideshow.

The jurors for the 2012 awards were Wei Fang, principal/curator of art & design, Interisland Terminal; Louis Fung, AIA, principal, Fung Associates; Ferdinand S. Johns, FAIA, principal, Ferdinand S. Johns, Architect; Janice Li, AIA, senior associate, WATG; Mark McInturff, FAIA, principal, McInturff Architects

; Lance Walters, assistant professor, University of Hawaii School of Architecture.