During the American Institute of Architects (AIA) National Convention in Miami, Jeffery Potter, FAIA, principal of Dallas and Longview, Texas–based architectural firm POTTER, was elected as the 2011 AIA first vice president/president-elect and the 2012 institute president.

Potter, an AIA Upjohn Fellow and a member of the Secretary's Advocacy Committee, has held many leadership positions with the AIA board of directors and also served as 2004 president of the Texas Society of Architects. His priorities as AIA president, he says, will be advocating for members and refining the relationship between AIA National and its components, as well as transitioning the institute from a trade organization to one of professional design leaders and improving its communication on the value of architects and architecture.

Also elected to office during the National Convention were Dennis A. Andrejko, FAIA, principal of Andrejko + Associates and tenured architecture professor at the State University of New York at Buffalo (2011–12 vice president); John A. Padilla, AIA, project manager with SMPC Architects (2011–12 vice president); and Helene Combs Dreiling, FAIA, principal of The Plum Studio (2011–12 secretary).