Flickr user David Arpi via a Creative Commons License

Last July, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) announced its consideration of 11 Frank Lloyd Wright-designed buildings for its prestigious World Heritage List. Interior Secretary Sally Jewell will officially announce the final list of Wright’s quintessential designs titled “Key Works of Modern Architecture by Frank Lloyd Wright” to the World Heritage Centre in Paris today.

Caroline Massie

The original set of 11 structures—proposed by the U.S. Department of Interior—was recently pared down to ten, with the S.C. Johnson Administration Building and Research Tower in Racine, Wisc. dropping off the 2011 list.

Hollyhock House, Los Angeles
Flickr user Cyril Rebetez via Creative Commons License Hollyhock House, Los Angeles

These final 10 buildings, which include what the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy calls “the most iconic, fully realized, and innovative” of Wright’s oeuvre include: Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa., Frederick Robie House in Chicago; the Guggenheim Museum in New York; Hollyhock House in Los Angeles; Marin County Civic Center in San Rafael, Calif.; the Price Tower in Bartlesville, Okla.; Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisc.; Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Ariz.; the Jacobs House in Madison, Wisc.; and Unity Temple in Oak Park, Ill. The designs would be collectively recognized as a singular World Heritage site.

Price Tower, Bartlesville, Okla.
Flickr user Konchok Namkha Wangmo via a Creative Commons License Price Tower, Bartlesville, Okla.

The group nomination will be considered in 2016. According to the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, the buildings would mark the first representation of American modern architecture on the roster which includes international landmarks such as the Acropolis in Athens and Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris.

Marin County Civic Center, San Rafael, Calif.
Flickr user Joshua Gatts via a Creative Commons License Marin County Civic Center, San Rafael, Calif.

Earlier coverage on the nominated buildings and recognition process here.

Taliesin, Spring Green, Wisc.
Flickr user Scott Johnson via a Creative Commons License Taliesin, Spring Green, Wisc.