The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has elevated 112 AIA members to its College of Fellows, honoring their contributions to the profession. The 2009 Fellows will be invested into the College in a ceremony during the 2009 AIA National Convention in May.

Fellows are chosen based on their contributions in one or more of several nomination categories:

1. Promoting the profession's aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency;
2. Advancing the science and art of planning and building by advancing standards of education, training, and practice;
3. Coordinating the building industry and the architectural profession through leadership in the AIA or other organizations;
4. Advancing living standards through an improved environment;
5. Increasing the profession's value to society.

The following residential architects are among the 2009 Fellows:

  • Marlon Blackwell, FAIA, Marlon Blackwell Architect, Fayetteville, Ark. (Design)

  • Elizabeth Danze, FAIA, Danze & Blood Architects, Austin, Texas (Education)

  • Belmont Freeman, FAIA, Belmont Freeman Architects, New York City (Led Related Organization)

  • Jeanne Gang, FAIA, Studio Gang Architects, Chicago (Design)

  • Louis Garapolo, FAIA, Garapolo Maynard Architects, Oak Park, Ill. (Service to Society)

  • Peter Grueneisen, FAIA, Nonzero Architecture and Studio Bau:ton, Santa Monica, Calif. (Practice)

  • Eric Haesloop, FAIA, LEED AP, Turnbull Griffin Haesloop Architects, San Francisco

  • John Fox Hayes, FAIA, Blackeny Hayes Architects, Philadelphia, Pa. (Volunteer Work)

  • Donald Jacobs, FAIA, JZMK Partners, Irvine, Calif. (Service to Society)

  • Donna Kacmar, FAIA, architect works inc., Houston (Education)

  • Emily Little, FAIA, Architects/ClaytonLevyLittle, Austin, Texas (Preservation)

  • Sigrid Miller Pollin, FAIA, Miller Pollin AIA Architecture, Amherst, Mass. (Education)

  • Lorcan O'Herlihy, FAIA, Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects, Culver City, Calif. (Design)

  • Travis L. Price III, FAIA, Travis Price Architects, Washington, D.C. (Practice)

  • Annabelle Selldorf, FAIA, Selldorf Architects, New York City (Design)

  • J. Frano Violich, FAIA, Kennedy & Violich Architecture, Boston, Mass. (Design)

  • Todd Walker, FAIA, Archimania, Memphis, Tenn. (Design)

  • Kendall P. Wilson, FAIA, IIDA, LEED AP, Envision Design, Washington, D.C. (Design)

  • Honorary Fellow: Winy Maas, FAIA, MVRDV, Rotterdam, The Netherlands For the complete list of 2009 AIA Fellows, visit