The American Institute of Architects (AIA) recently announced the 2008 winners of three awards.

Twenty-Five Year Award

Richard Meier, FAIA's Atheneum will receive the 2008 AIA Twenty-Five Year Award, an honor bestowed to an architectural design that has stood the test of time for 25 years. The building and its architect will be recognized at the American Architectural Foundation's Accent on Architecture gala Feb. 22, 2008, in Washington, D.C.

Located on the banks of the Wabash River at the edge of New Harmony, Ind., the Atheneum opened in October 1979 . It serves as a visitors center and starting point for the tour of the historic town, as well as a center for cultural and community events. It previously received the Progressive Architecture Award in 1979 and an AIA Honor Award in 1982. Visit for images and a full description of the project.

Whitney M. Young Jr. Award

Norma Merrick Sklarek, FAIA, is the 2008 recipient of the Whitney M. Young Jr. Award. Given to an architect or architecturally oriented organization exemplifying the profession's responsibility toward current social issues, the award is named for civil rights leader Whitney M. Young Jr., a proponent of social change and former head of the Urban League. Sklarek is the 37th recipient of the award, which will be bestowed at the AIA 2008 Annual Convention in Boston in May 2008.

Sklarek's life and career has been one of firsts. According to AIA, she was the first African-American woman to graduate from Columbia University with a B.Arch, in 1950, and was the first African-American female architect in the nation. In 1980, she became the first female African-American Fellow of the AIA. And in 1985, she became the head of the first architecture firm to be formed and managed by an African-American woman.

Edward C. Kemper Award

Thomas L. McKittrick, FAIA, has been selected as the 2008 recipient of the Edward C. Kemper Award, which recognizes individuals who contribute significantly to the profession of architecture through service to the AIA. A practitioner, educator, and leader in emerging professional concerns, McKittrick has been dedicated to the institute and his profession for more than 40 years.

Past roles include president of the Houston Chapter of the AIA in 1981, president of the Texas Society of Architects in 1984, national board member from 1989 to 1991, and vice president of the AIA national component in 1991. He currently is professor emeritus at Texas A&M University.