Residential projects built in the past five years within the U.S. will be considered for the 2013 AIA Housing Awards. Winners are selected in four categories: One- or Two-Family Custom Housing, One- or Two-Family Production Housing, Multifamily Housing, and Special Housing. A jury of architects specializing in various types of residential design has been selected and consists of Kathleen Dorgan, AIA, Dorgan Architecture & Planning, Storrs, Conn.; John Isch, AIA, RWA Architects, Cincinnati; R. Thomas Jones, AIA, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, Calif.; Stephen Sharpe, Hon. AIA, Austin, Texas; and Charles L. Travis, AIA, The Housing Studio, P.A., Charlotte, N.C.

Projects will be evaluated based on design excellence, sustainability, affordability, social impact, innovation, durability, context, and meeting the specific needs of the client. Get an idea of what it takes to receive an award by viewing 2012 honorees in the accompanying slideshow.