Twelve national industry leaders were named as candidates for this year’s Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing, the industry’s premier award for deep and lasting contributions to sustainability that includes a $50,000 award grant. Last year’s recipient was Edward Mazria, founder of the non-profit Architecture 2030. This year’s award will be presented at the USGBC Hanley Award Dinner, Nov. 17, during the Greenbuild International Conference and Expo in Chicago.

Official nominations for the award were submitted by a select committee: Phil Crone, director, Green Built Texas; Jean Dimeo, chief editor,; Michelle Kaufmann, AIA, LEED AP; Don Carr, senior advisor, NAHB Research Center Green Building Program; and Gail Vittori, co-director, Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems. Eligible nominees are residential construction industry professionals or those working in technical research, product development, educational outreach, environmental advocacy, governmental policy, and related areas, who have made deep, long-standing, and influential commitments to sustainability, or significant and lasting contributions to the widespread implementation of environmental building concepts, techniques, and innovations in advancing sustainable housing in the United States.

The 2010 Hanley Award Candidates:
David Baker, FAIA, LEED AP
Principal/Founder, David Baker + Partners, Architects
San Francisco, CA

Dennis Creech
Executive Director, Southface Energy Institute
Atlanta, GA

David Gottfried
Founder, USGBC
Regenerative Ventures, WorldBuild Consulting
Berkeley, CA

Robert Hammon, PhD
Principal, ConSol
Stockton, CA

Mark LaLiberte
Denver, CO

Make It Right Foundation
New Orleans, LA

William McDonough
Principal, William McDonough + Partners
Charlottesville, VA

Chris Miles
Principal, GreenCraft Builders LLC
Lewisville, TX

Peter Pfeiffer, FAIA
Principal, Barley & Pfeiffer Architects
Austin, TX

Alex Wilson
Founder, Executive Editor, BuildingGreen LLC
Brattleboro, VT

Steven Winter, FAIA
President, Steven Winter Associates
Norwalk, CT

Sunia Zaterman
Executive Director, Council of Large Public Housing Authorities
Washington, DC

On June 16 a distinguished panel of judges will meet in Washington, D.C., to review and evaluate this year’s slate of candidates and select the award recipient. Their decision will be made public shortly afterward. The 2010 Hanley Award judges include Michael J. Hanley, co-founder and retired CEO of Hanley Wood and president of The Hanley Foundation; Frank Anton, longtime industry thought-leader and CEO of Hanley Wood; Joyce Mason, vice president of marketing for Pardee Homes in California, a green building leader in themselves; Nate Kredich, vice president of residential market development for the USGBC; and last year’s recipient, Edward Mazria, founder of Architecture 2030.