Today, the Royal Institute of Architects (RIBA) have announced their longlist of 20 projects for its 2016 House of the Year Award. Started in 2001, and formerly referred to as the Manser Medal, the award celebrates design excellence in a new house or house extension built by a British architect. This year's list includes designs by Bennetts Associates, Jestico + Whiles, DSDHA, Sanei Hopkins Architects, and Richard Murphy Architects.

Last year's winner, the Flint House, by London-based Skene Catling de la Peña, impressed the judges with its nontraditional form. The right-angled, triangular house—constructed in two parts (main and guest house)—juts from the earth at an angle and incorporates stairs into its incline. The guest home is a smaller-scale version of the main house, and sit right across the site.

The judges for the 2016 RIBA House of the Year are Meredith Bowles, founder of Cambridge, England-based Mole Architects (jury chair); Charlotte Skene Catling, co-founder of Skene Catling de la Peña; Jonathan Dallas, director at London-based Dallas Pierce Quintero; Phillip Thorn, head of Direct Home for Hiscox; and Jenny Éclair, novelist, actress, and client of the 2005 award-winning house.

Here are five of the projects that made the list. Click on the name of each to see and read more in our project gallery.

Edmund Sumner

Le Petit Fort, Hudson Architects

Christoffer Rudquist

Covert House, DSDHA

The Owers House, Feock, U.K., by John Pardey Architects
James Morris The Owers House, Feock, U.K., by John Pardey Architects

The Owers House, John Pardey Architects

Keith Hunter

Murphy House, Richard Murphy Architects

charles hosea

Outhouse, Loyn & Co Architects

For a full list of projects being considered for the award, visit RIBA's website.