Recently, the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) released a short list of six finalists for its 2010 Stirling Prize. The awards program, now in its 15th year, celebrates architectural excellence by awarding £20,000 to the architects of the best new European building built or designed in Britain.

Projects competing for the 2010 Stirling Prize are:

The judges for the 2010 Stirling Prize will tour each of the buildings—two museums, an art gallery, a live/work development, and two schools—and will then select and announce the winner on Oct. 2, 2010. The announcement will be made at the Roundhouse, a performing arts center in London, and will be broadcast live at 6:30 p.m. on BBC Two's The Culture Show.

The 2010 award judges are: RIBA president Ruth Reed; architect Ivan Harbour of Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners; architect Edward Jones of Dixon Jones; Queen Mary, University of London professor Lisa Jardine; and broadcaster Mark Lawson.