The Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum has announced the winners of its 2013 National Design Awards. Studio Gang Architects took the prize in the architecture design category, while Aidlin Darling Design won for interior design. The jury named James Wines of SITE as its lifetime achievement winner, and Michael Sorkin as this year's "Design Mind". Other winners include TED for corporate and institutional achievement, Paula Scher for communication design, Behnaz Sarafpour for fashion design, Local Projects for interaction design, Margie Ruddick for landscape architecture, and NewDealDesign for product design. Thom Mayne, FAIA, of Morphosis Architects and Gisue Hariri of Hariri & Hariri were among the program’s 9 jurors.

For more information on Aidlin Darling Design, read Residential Architect’s November-December 2011 cover profile. For more information on Studio Gang, read ARCHITECT’s April 2011 Studio Visit.