The Virginia Society of the American Institute of Architects recently celebrated the presentation of its 2010 Honors Awards to recognize the achievements of architects and others on behalf of the profession and Virginia's communities and architectural heritage. Several honors were bestowed to Virginia Society members, as well as to individuals and organizations outside the profession.

The 2010 William C. Noland Medal, the Virginia Society's highest professional honor, was awarded to Peyton Boyd, AIA, of Peyton Boyd Architect, Abingdon, Va., in recognition of his decades of dedication and generous service to the profession, his passion and public advocacy for good design, and his sustained efforts through the years to elevate communities' awareness of the design and its benefits.

Charlottesville, Va., philanthropists Hunter J. Smith and the late Carl W. Smith have received the society's 2010 Architecture Medal for Virginia Service, its most prestigious public award, in recognition of their contributions to Virginians' understanding of the built environment, their historic preservation efforts, and their long support of education, fine arts, history, and affordable housing programs.

Ritter Architects in Alexandria, Va., received the David T. Fitz-Gibbon Virginia Architecture Firm Award, the society's highest award for an architectural firm, which recognizes firms that consistently have produced distinguished architecture for at least 10 years. Over the years, the 12-person firm of Ritter Architects has earned more than 50 design awards for its architectural, interior design, and planning work.

To recognize especially noteworthy achievement by an architect in design, practice, education, or service to the community or the profession, the society bestows the Award for Distinguished Achievement. This year, the award was given to three individuals:

  • T. Duncan Abernathy, AIA, director of government and industry affairs for the Virginia Society AIA—for his extensive regulatory and legislative work on issues of importance to the profession, such as copyright protections, unlicensed practice, and contract enforcement.
  • James R. Boyd, AIA, of Heyward Boyd Architects in Charlottesville, Va.—for his lasting contributions toward the protection and sensible regulation of the profession during his 30-plus years in practice, as well as for his award-winning design work.
  • Robert W. Moje, AIA, of VMDO in Charlottesville—for his design leadership and work in creating educational environments that form a sense of community and stimulate students' learning and performance.

Two Society Honors, given to organizations or citizens who have inspired, influenced, or complemented architecture or the profession in the state, were bestowed this year:

  • The Building Goodness Foundation—for its work in bringing together volunteers within the construction industry to design and build structures for communities in need and its beneficial impact on citizens of the Commonwealth.
  • Daniel A. Gecker, chairman of the Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors and principal of Rehabilitation Tax Credit Finance in Lynchburg, Va.—for his contributions to historic preservation, which include helping develop the regulations that implemented the State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit legislation.

Kathleen S. Kilpatrick, director and state historic preservation officer for the Virginia Department of Historic Resources, and Richard F. Sliwoski, director of the Virginia Department of General Services were granted Honorary Membership, which is bestowed upon those who exemplify the interests and values of the profession but are not eligible for membership in the society.

The 2010 Test of Time Award, which recognizes architectural design of enduring significance, was presented to the Central National Bank Building in Richmond, designed by John Eberson and completed in 1929.