During its annual National Convention in Miami, held June 10 – 12, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced the winners of its 2010 Small Project Awards Program. Now in its sixth year, the awards program recognizes small-project practitioners for excellence in design.

Ten awards were given in three categories: Architecture in the Public Interest, Small Project Objects (up to $50,000 construction budget), and Small Project Structures (up to $500,000 construction budget).

The 2010 Small Project Award winners are:

Architecture in the Public Interest


Small Project Objects

Small Project Structures

The Small Project Awards jury members were: Tom Howorth, FAIA, Howorth & Associates; Kevin Harris, FAIA, Kevin Harris and Associates; Camilo Parra, AIA, Parra Design Group Ltd.; Thomas Fisher, Assoc. AIA, dean of the University of Minnesota College of Design; and David Miller, FAIA, The Miller Hull Partnership.

Launch the playlist to view images of the winning small projects.