brininstool + lynch, chicago

The elegance of schematic plans typically frays a bit on the way from trace paper to bricks-and-mortar reality, but architect Brad Lynch’s house in Chicago’s North Side seems to have made the trip unscathed. The big ideas here include a kitchen/dining/living space that spans the depth of the building between end walls of floor-to-ceiling glass. “My homage to the front porch,” explains Lynch, who also included retractable shades.

Second-floor bedrooms are as private as the main level is public, while a lower-level family room opens toward the rear, onto a subgrade courtyard. A monolithic millwork volume rises through all three floors, containing storage, kitchen, and service functions and separating living spaces from the linear stair that acts as the house’s primary circulation spine.

The clarity of Lynch’s scheme and the fidelity of its execution struck a chord with our panel of judges, who called the outcome “incredibly disciplined.”

(See more on this project. which also won a Merit award in the Architectural Design Detail category.)


Project Details
principal in charge / project architect:
Brad Lynch, Brininstool + Lynch, http://www.brininstool-lynch.com
general contractor: Jake Goldberg, Goldberg General Contracting, Chicago, http://www.ggcinc.net
project size: 4,250 square feet; site size: 0.09 acre
construction cost: $389 per square foot
photography: Christopher Barrett/Hedrich Blessing

Product Specs
bathroom fittings: KWC America www.kwcamerica.com, Vola A/S www.vola.dk; bathroom fixtures: Kohler Co. www.kohler.com, TOTO USA www.totousa.com; cooktop, dishwasher, oven/range: Gaggenau www.gaggenau.com/US_en/Home.do; countertops, kitchen cabinets: Arclinea Chicago www.arclineachicago.com; doors, windows: Hope's Windows www.hopeswindows.com; exterior siding: RHEINZINK America us.rheinzink.de; flooring (carpet): Shaw Industries www.shawfloors.com; flooring (ceramic tile/stone/concrete): Ann Sacks Tile & Stone www.annsacks.com/home.html, Stone Source www.stonetechonline.com/main.htm; flooring (wood): The Bahr Co. www.thebahrco.com; garage doors: Overhead Door Corp. www.overheaddoor.com; garbage disposer: In-Sink-Erator www.insinkerator.com/isejsp/index.jsp; hardware: Accurate Lock and Hardware www.accuratelockandhardware.com/main.asp, d line North America www.dline.com, Forms+Surfaces www.forms-surfaces.com, RIXSON Specialty Door Controls www.rixson.com, Schlage Lock Co. www.schlage.com; insulation: CertainTeed Corp. www.certainteed.com, Johns Manville www.jm.com; kitchen fittings: KWC America www.kwcamerica.com; kitchen fixtures: Foster Custom Kitchens www.fostercustomkitchens.com; lighting fixtures: BEGA/US www.bega-us.com, B-K Lighting www.bklighting.com/index1.html, Gammalux Systems www.gammalux.com, Lucifer Lighting Co. www.luciferlighting.com, Nulite Lighting www.nulite-lighting.com; paints/stains/wall finishes: Benjamin Moore & Co. www.benjaminmoore.com; radiant floor heating system: Uponor (WIRSBO) www.wirsbo.com; refrigerator: Sub-Zero www.subzero.com; roofing: CertainTeed Corp. www.certainteed.com; skylights/roof windows: Panelite www.e-panelite.com

View the next 2010 rada winner.