mcinturff architects
bethesda, md.

A pin-oak allee leading to nowhere set up a drum roll on this small farm. The owners planted it in 1994, letting it grow to create a place for their future house. Architect Mark McInturff’s finishing flourish is an elevated box that neatly sidesteps the axis, “like a bull with a cape.” The house’s carport and second-story porch straddle the drive, so you can look down its length. Lifting the living spaces also lengthened views of the rolling landscape. A judge pronounced it “too sweet for words,” adding, “The porch is wonderful. Couldn’t you spend a day reading right there?”


Click here to see all 2011 rada winners.



 

product details

bathroom fixtures: Blanco America, www.blancoamerica.com, Kohler, www.kohler.com, KWC, www.kwcamerica.com; ceiling fans: Modern Fan Co., www.modernfan.com; cooktop and oven: Miele, www.mieleusa.com; countertops: Caesarstone, www.caesarstoneus.com; dishwasher and refrigerator: Bosch, www.bosch-home.com; exterior siding: ATAS International, www.atas.com, James Hardie Building Products, www.jameshardie.com; flooring (ceramic tile, stone, or concrete): Ergon, www.ergontile.it; lighting fixtures: Bruck Lighting Systems, www.brucklighting.com, Cooper Lighting, www.cooperlighting.com, Ginger, www.gingerco.com, Lightolier, www.lightolier.com; paints/stains/wall finishes: Benjamin Moore, www.benjaminmoore.com; skylights: Velux, www.velux.com; windows: Pella, www.pella.com