We’ve been handing out our leadership awards for 12 years, and at no time has it been more difficult to achieve a leadership position in this profession than now. The architecture field is buffeted by challenges from all directions, so there’s a certain poignancy and promise to our class of 2010. This year’s winners are Hall of Fame: Harry Teague, AIA, Harry Teague Architects; Top Firm: Dan Shipley, FAIA, Shipley Architects; and Rising Star: Jeffrey L. Day, AIA, and E.B. Min, AIA, Min | Day. Their work differs, but they share a trait rare among architects—they know not only how to design things, but how to build them, too. Teague and Shipley have run design/build practices, bringing creativity and craft to their clients for years. And Day and Min are plumbing the astounding potential of new computer fabrication technology to transform custom-designed work. They understand how to value engineer each project while retaining what’s truly valuable, and that’s a skill everyone must master going forward in the new world order.