On Feb. 9, 2009, the 15th Annual Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards recognized the local community leaders, architects, organizations, and businesses that in the past year have worked to maintain the vibrancy of Chicago's neighborhoods. Seven awards were given for community development leadership, along with three awards sponsored by the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation for Architectural Excellence in Community Design to especially innovative and exemplary community developments.

The winners of the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Architectural Excellence in Community Design are:

  • First Place—Studio Gang Architects for SOS Children's Villages Lavezzorio Community Center. The building's striking exterior design continues throughout its interiors with open, multiuse spaces that give the organization the flexibility to serve its residents in a variety of ways while fostering a sense of stability.

  • Second Place—LCM Architects for Access Living Headquarters. Exemplifying the organization's mission, the new headquarters building follows universal design principles, integrating design details that make the building intuitive and accessible for all users.

  • Third Place—Kennedy King Architects a collaboration of Johnson & Lee Ltd. and VOA Associates, for the new Kennedy-King College. The design of the new 40-acre college campus' state-of-the-art facilities reflects the institution's dignity and seriousness while encouraging ties to the community by bringing in a bookstore, graphic services, daycare center, and full-service restaurant.

    The seven 2009 Chicago Neighborhood Development community leadership award-winners are:

  • Chicago Community Trust Outstanding Community Strategy of the Year award—The Cara Program.

  • Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Outstanding Nonprofit Neighborhood Real Estate Project—SOS Children's Villages Lavezzorio Community Center.

  • Polk Bros. Foundation Affordable Rental Housing Preservation Award—Ehresman Management for the Lawndale Restoration Project.

  • Outstanding For-Profit Neighborhood Real Estate Project Award—DL3 Realty for the Roseland Medical Center.

  • Special Recognition Award—The United Neighborhood Organization.

  • Norman Bobins Leadership Award—Rami Nashashibi, executive director, Inner-City Muslim Action Network.

  • Friend of the Neighborhoods Award—Valerie B. Jarrett, senior adviser to President Barack Obama and assistant to the President for Intergovernmental Relations and Public Liaison. For more information on each of the award winners on the awards, sponsored by LISC/Chicago, visit www.lisc-chicago.org/display.aspx?pointer=7204.