The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) recently announced the winners of its annual honor awards program, which recognizes leaders in the interior design industry.

Winners of the 2009 ASID Awards are:

Designer of Distinction—Darrell Schmitt, ASID, CID, Darrell Schmitt Design Associates, Los Angeles

Design for Humanity—

  • HOK (23 offices worldwide).

  • Greg Mortenson, co-founder/executive director, Central Asia Institute, Bozeman, Mont. Educator of Distinction—John Zeisel, Ph.D., educator, lecturer, and president/co-founder of Hearthstone Alzheimer's Family Foundation and Hearthstone Alzheimer Care, Woburn, Mass.

    Product Prize – Corporate—Knoll, headquartered in East Greenville, Pa.

    Product Prize – Individual—Stephanie Odegard, founder/president, Odegard Inc., New York City.

    Patron's Prize—Haworth, Holland, Mich.

    Industry Partner Merit Award—

  • Gary Reinhardt, CEO/owner, CMI Interiors, Springfield, N.J.

  • Ronna Cohen, Rexel Branch Electric, Rockville, Md. For more details on the ASID Award winners, visit ASID's blog.