The American Institute of Architects (AIA) recently announced the winners of the 2011 Housing Awards, which for 11 years has recognized design that promotes the concept of good housing as a regenerative and enriching force for individuals and the nation. Four award categories cover the most common housing types: One/Two Family Custom Housing, One/Two Family Production Housing, Multifamily Housing, and Special Housing.

Eighteen projects were selected for awards: 

One/Two Family Custom Housing

One/Two Family Production Housing

Multifamily Living

Special Housing

View the two slideshows for project information. Read complete details on all 18 winning projects here

The 2011 Housing Awards jury included: Katherine Austin, AIA, Katherine Austin Architect; S. Claire Conroy, editorial director, residential architect and CUSTOM HOME magazines; Mike Jackson, FAIA, State of Illinois Historic Preservation Agency; Luis Jauregui, AIA, Jauregui Inc.; and Marilys Nepomechie, FAIA, Florida International University, Miami.