The AIA named the 2013 Honor Awards, selecting 28 projects from more than 700 submissions. A total of 11 projects were granted awards for architectural design. The 2013 Honors Awards for Architecture are as follows:

Art Stable, by Olson Kundig Architects (Seattle): The large steel-clad doors that open into the seven-story mixed-use project can be operated using a custom hand wheel and hinge—a system that also makes it possible to lift large objects from the alley into each of the building's five units. The building also features a unique system of geothermal loops, the first of its kind in the U.S.

The Barnes Foundation, by Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects (Philadelphia): To enable the relocation of the Barnes from its historic home in Merion, Penn., to downtown Philadelphia, the firm replicated the proportion and configuration of the original galleries in a larger facility that also features a garden and new classroom space. 

Boat Pavilion for Long Dock Park, by Architecture Research Office (ARO) (Beacon, N.Y.): A boat pavilion for the Scenic Hudson Land Trust and one of two structures created for Long Dock Park, this structure features a roof made from corrugated steel and storage room for more than 60 kayaks or canoes.

Centra Metropark, by Kohn Pedersen Fox (KPF) (Iselin, N.J.): The firm added 10,000 square feet to the top floor to a dated, suburban structure, making for a contemporary office environment through the use of a high-performance enclosure. This project won a 2011 Annual Design Review award.

Lee Hall College of Architecture addition at Clemson University, by Thomas Phifer and Partners (Clemson, S.C.): The 55,000-square-foot addition accommodates 12 different degree programs by introducing creative interdisciplinary exchanges throughout the exceedingly energy-efficient building.

Mason Lane Farm Operations Facility by De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop (Goshen, Ky.): The design by De Leon & Primmer for this farm complex takes several buildings and farm operations and consolidates them in one. The firm used locally grown bamboo to make a resilient building skin for a structure otherwise made with a conventional kit-of-parts approach.

Milstein Hall at Cornell University, by Office of Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) (Ithaca, N.Y.): This building—the first in more than 100 years at Cornell's College of Architecture, Art and Planning—considers the long and distinguished architectural history of the program with an addition that unifies the complex.

Morse and Ezra Stiles Colleges, renovation, by KieranTimberlake (New Haven, Conn.): The renovation of the Yale University residential colleges designed by Eero Saarinen provides 25,000 square feet of new student activity space below grade and transforms outdoor hardscapes into a sustainable landscape.

The New York Public Library, exterior restoration, by Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates (New York City): Entrusted with the signature work of Carrère and Hastings and one of New York's most important civic monuments, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates oversaw the New York Public Library's $50 million renovation in advance of its 2011 centennial. 

Saint Nicholas Eastern Orthodox Church, by Marlon Blackwell Architect (Springdale, Ark.): The architects transformed an existing metal shop into a sanctuary on the same site, one whose skin is recognizable from the nearby interstate despite the small scale of the structure. 

Vancouver Convention Center West, by LMN Architects + MCM/DA, (Vancouver, Canada): This LEED Canada Platinum–certified project unifies Vancouver's urban core with its harbor by highlighting natural landforms through interior architecture, urban design, and civic spaces that blend with the natural ecosystem.

The jury for the 2013 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture includes Mary Katherine (Mary Kay) Lanzillotta, FAIA, of Hartman-Cox Architects (chair); Brian Fitzsimmons, AIA, of Fitzsimmons Architects; John Kane, FAIA, of Architekton; William Leddy, FAIA, of Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects; Philip Loheed, AIA, of BTA Architects; Robert Maschke, AIA, of Robert Maschke Architects; Douglas L. Milburn, Assoc. AIA, of Isaksen Glerum Wachter; and Becky Joyce Yannes, AIAS representative, ofDrexel University. 

Please visit ARCHITECT's Project Gallery to view all of the 2013 AIA Honor Award winners in Architecture