Twenty-seven projects have been selected by the American Institute of Architects to receive 2011 Institute Honor Awards, the highest honor the organization bestows to recognize excellence in architecture, interior architecture, and urban design.  

Ten projects have received 2011 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture, including one residential project.

  • AT&T Performing Arts Center Dee and Charles Wyly Theater, Dallas (design architect: REX|OMA, New York City; associate architect: Kendall/Heaton Associates, Houston)

  • Barnard College Diana Center, New York City (Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism, New York City)

  • Horizontal Skyscraper / Vanke Center, Shenzhen, China (Steven Holl Architects, New York City and Beijing, China)

  • New Acropolis Museum, Athens, Greece (Bernard Tschumi Architects,  New York City and Paris, France; associated architect: Michael Photiadis, ARSY, Athens, Greece)

  • North Carolina Museum of Art, Raleigh, N.C. (Thomas Phifer and Partners, New York City)

  • One Jackson Square, New York City (Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, New York City)

  • The Ford Assembly Building, Richmond, Calif. (Marcy Wong Donn Logan Architects, Berkeley, Calif.)

  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art Rooftop Garden, San Francisco (Jensen Architects / Jensen & Macy Architects, San Francisco)

  • U.S. Land Port of Entry, Warroad, Minn. (Julie Snow Architects, Minneapolis)

  • University of Michigan Museum of Art, Ann Arbor, Mich. (Allied Works Architecture, New York City and Portland, Ore.)

Eleven projects were selected for Interior Architecture awards.

  • The Academy of Music, Philadelphia (KlingStubbins, Philadelphia)

  • Alchemist, Miami Beach, Fla. (Rene Gonzalez, Architect, Miami)

  • Armstrong Oil and Gas, Denver, Colo. (Lake|Flato Architects, San Antonio)

  • Conga Room, Los Angeles (Belzberg Architects, Santa Monica, Calif.)

  • Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising San Diego Campus, San Diego (Clive Wilkinson Architects, West Hollywood, Calif.)

  • John E. Jaqua Academic Center for Student Athletes, Eugene, Ore. (Zimmer Gunsul Frasca Architects, Portland, Ore.)

  • Moving Picture Co., Santa Monica, Calif. (Patrick Tighe Architecture, Santa Monica, Calif.)

  • The Power House, Restoration/Renovation, St. Louis, Mo. (Cannon Design, St. Louis, Mo.)

  • Registrar Recorder County Clerk Elections Operations Center, Santa Fe Springs, Calif. (Lehrer Architects, Los Angeles)

  • Vancouver Convention Centre West, Vancouver, British Columbia (design architect: LMN Architects, Seattle; prime architects: DA Architects + Planners/MCM Partnership Architects, Designers, Planners, Vancouver, British Columbia)

  •  Washington Square Park Dental, San Francisco (Montalba Architects, Santa Monica, Calif.)

The 2011 Institute Honor Awards for Regional and Urban Design were given to six projects.

  • Beijing CBD East Expansion, Beijing, China (Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, Chicago)

  • Chicago Central Area DeCarbonization Plan, Chicago (Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture, Chicago)

  • Community|City: Between Building and Landscape; Affordable Sustainable Infill for Smoketown, Louisville, Ky. (Marilys R. Nepomechie, FAIA, Marilys R. Nepomechie Architect + Florida International University; and Marta Canavés, ASLA, IIDA, Marta Canavés Design + Florida International University)

  • Gowanus Canal Sponge Park, New York City (dlandstudio, Brooklyn, N.Y.)

  • Low Impact Development: a design manual for urban areas (University of Arkansas Community Design Center, Fayetteville, Ark.)

  • Townscaping an Automobile-Oriented Fabric, Farmington, Ark. (University of Arkansas Community Design Center, Fayetteville, Ark.)

Launch the playlist for photos of each project. For complete project details, click here.