We knew we’d see fewer entries in our residential architect Design Awards this year and we did. We’re off our highest mark (1,346 in 2008) by nearly 400 entries. With less competition, you’d assume the program would prove less competitive. Not so—no grading on a curve here. In fact, this may have been one of our toughest juries yet—you’ll see just six Grand awards among 26 winning entries. What you won’t see is a number of categories the jurors eliminated altogether. They elevated no entries to awards in our Campus Housing, Adaptive Reuse, Architectural Interiors, Kitchen, Bath, or Single-Family Production/Attached categories. And they promoted the single winner from our Outbuilding category to Project of the Year. We give our jurors wide latitude to adjust the program as they see fit to maintain its high quality. The goal always is a rigorous design program, otherwise how meaningful is it to win?

If your name is among this year’s winners, you shouldn’t feel lucky—you should feel proud. Fewer than 3 percent of our 978 entries are listed here, making RADA the most competitive housing design program in the country.

The jury for the 11th annual residential architect Design Awards included six distinguished architects, including Ed Binkley, AIA, ed binkley design, Oviedo, Fla.; Louise Harpman, Assoc. AIA, Specht Harpman, Austin, Texas; Jennifer Luce, AIA, Luce et Studio, San Diego; John V. Mutlow, FAIA, RIBA, University of Southern California School of Architecture, Los Angeles; Julie Snow, FAIA, Julie Snow Architects, Minneapolis; and Richard Williams, FAIA, Richard Williams Architects, Washington, D.C. In all, they bestowed 19 Merit awards, six Grand awards, and one Project of the Year award.

View the 2010 rada project of the year.