Launch Slideshow

Building walls are 8-inch-thick precast concrete with thin brick cast into the molds at the street faades.

Rosa Parks Apartments, Chicago

Rosa Parks Apartments, Chicago

  • The buildings' colored bays animate the street.

    http://www.residentialarchitect.com/Images/tmpD7C9%2Etmp_tcm48-748457.jpg

    true

    The buildings' colored bays animate the street.

    600

    Andreas Eg Larsson

    The buildings' colored bays animate the street.

  • Building walls are 8-inch-thick precast concrete with thin brick cast into the molds at the street façades.

    http://www.residentialarchitect.com/Images/tmpD7CA%2Etmp_tcm48-748459.jpg

    true

    Building walls are 8-inch-thick precast concrete with thin brick cast into the molds at the street façades.

    600

    Andreas Eg Larsson

    Building walls are 8-inch-thick precast concrete with thin brick cast into the molds at the street facades.

  • The buildings feature two window types set in precast exterior walls.

    http://www.residentialarchitect.com/Images/tmpD7CC%2Etmp_tcm48-748466.jpg

    true

    The buildings feature two window types set in precast exterior walls.

    600

    Andreas Eg Larsson

    The buildings feature two window types set in precast exterior walls.

  • Seen in this site plan, the project consists of eight buildings scattered across 21 city lots.

    http://www.residentialarchitect.com/Images/tmpD7CD%2Etmp_tcm48-748469.jpg

    true

    Seen in this site plan, the project consists of eight buildings scattered across 21 city lots.

    600

    Courtesy Landon Bone Baker Architects

    Seen in this site plan, the project consists of eight buildings scattered across 21 city lots.

landon bone baker architects
chicago

The Rosa Parks Apartments complex is far from the average affordable project, mainly because Landon Bone Baker Architects infused it with thoughtful design and user-friendly unit plans. One judge liked that it’s “very quiet and understated.” Each of the eight buildings in the project is highlighted by precast exterior walls with 6 inches of blown in fiberglass. Colorful bays animate the street, while the largest building—a four-story, 27-unit structure—features solar hot water, geothermal heating, and a heat recovery system for the kitchen and bath exhausts. It is seeking LEED Gold certification.


Click here to see all 2011 rada winners.


 

product details

bathroom and kitchen cabinets: Armstrong, www.armstrong.com; bathroom fittings: Gerber Plumbing, www.gerberonline.com, Moen, www.moen.com; bathroom fixtures: Bootz Industries, www.bootz.com, Mansfield, www.mansfieldplumbing.com; countertops: Wilsonart, www.wilsonart.com; doors: Curries, www.curries.com, Graham Doors, www.grahamdoors.com, Pittco, www.pittcometals.com; flooring: Guoya Bamboo, www.guoyabamboo.com, Mohawk Group, www.mohawkgroup.com, Shaw, www.shawfloors.com; hardware: Adams Rite, www.adamsrite.com, Cal-Royal, www.cal-royal.com, Hager, www.hagerco.com, Ives, www.iveshardware.com, LCN, www.lcnclosers.com, Schlage, www.schlage.com, Von Duprin, www.vonduprin.com; hvac equipment: Goodman, www.goodmanmfg.com; insulation: Johns Manville, www.jm.com; kitchen fittings: Gerber Plumbing, www.gerberonline.com; kitchen fixtures: Elkay, www.elkay.com; lighting fixtures: Air King, www.airkinglimited.com, Cooper Lighting, www.cooperlighting.com, RAB Lighting, www.rabweb.com, Sea Gull Lighting, www.seagulllighting.com, Spaulding Lighting, www.spauldinglighting.com, Xenon Architectural Lighting, www.xal.com; oven and refrigerator: GE, www.ge.com; paints/stains/wall finishes: PPG Pittsburgh Paints, www.ppgpittsburghpaints.com; roofing: GAF, www.gaf.com; solar energy system: Solar Services, www.solarservices.com; windows: Climate Guard, www.climateguardproducts.com