Sonoma Spa Retreat, Sonoma, Calif.

Sonoma Spa Retreat, Sonoma, Calif.

Credit: Bruce Damonte


Aidlin Darling Design  

San Francisco–based Aidlin Darling Design crafted the program of this private spa retreat, located in the mountains of Sonoma, Calif., to serve as a place of respite for a businessman and his family. The structure is sited within a grove of oak , manzanita, and madrone trees, close enough to the main house so as to be convenient, but far enough to ensure privacy on the 10-acre site. The entry is situated behind two curving earthen walls that make the approach somewhat like moving through a concrete Richard Serra sculpture. Inside, the 1,802-square-foot structure includes a yoga and meditation studio, a steam room, changing rooms, and a refreshment bar. The spaces are organized on a wood deck surface that projects out over the landscape to the northeast and southeast to provide a private sundeck, which is shaded by a slatted canopy. Retractable glass walls open the interior spaces to the outdoors. “It was a controversial project because a 1,800-square-foot outbuilding struck some of us as being a little difficult to swallow,” juror Joel Sanders said. “But what won the jury over, was not only the exquisite detailing, but, most importantly, the way it is embedded in the landscape.”

Click here to see all of the winners of the 2014 Residential Architect Design Awards.

Context view.

Context view.

Credit: Chris Gramly


Approach.

Approach.

Credit: Bruce Damonte


Entry.

Entry.

Credit: Bruce Damonte


Yoga and meditation studio.

Yoga and meditation studio.

Credit: Bruce Damonte


Surrounding views.

Surrounding views.

Credit: Bruce Damonte


Night view.

Night view.

Credit: Bruce Damonte


Drawings

Plan.

Plan.

Credit: Courtesy Aidlin Darling Design



Project Credits

Project  Sonoma Spa Retreat, Sonoma, Calif.
Architect  Aidlin Darling Design, San Francisco—David Darling, AIA, Joshua Aidlin, AIA, Paul Baird, Kent Chiang
General Contractor  Burlington Construction—Steve Burlington
Structural Engineer  Berkeley Structural Design—Bill Lynch
Civil Engineer  Lescure Engineers—Maureen Wendle
Landscape Architect  Landmark Landscape Co.—June King
Photography  Bruce Damonte, Chris Gramly
Project Size  1,820 square feet
Construction Cost  Withheld

Materials and Sources

Bathroom Cabinets  Custom (painted MDF)
Bathroom Fittings  Kohler kohler.com
Bathroom Fixtures  Rhodes Architectural Stone rhodes-stone.com
Countertops  Custom stone
Doors  Fleetwood Windows & Doors fleetwoodusa.com
Exterior Siding  Custom (1 x 3  split cedar palms)
Flooring  Ann Sacks  (tile) annsacks.com; Rode Bros. (reclaimed teak deck and floor) rodebros.com
Hardware  Custom (bronze door pull); Omnia Industries (hinges and doors) omniaindustries.com; Rixson, an Assa Abloy Group Co.  (pivot hinge) rixson.com
Insulation  Thermafiber thermafiber.com
Kitchen Cabinets  Custom (painted MDF)
Kitchen Fittings  Kohler kohler.com
Kitchen Fixtures  Elkay Manufacturing Co. elkay.com
Lighting Fixtures  Bega-US bega-us.com; B-K Lighting bklighting.com; Litelab  litelab.com; Lucifer Lighting Co. luciferlighting.com
Paints and Finishes  Benjamin Moore & Co. benjaminmoore.com; Cabot (stain) cabotstain.com
Refrigerator  Viking Range vikingrange.com
Roofing  Johns Manville jm.com
Skylights  Velux veluxusa.com
Solar Energy System  Mitsubishi Electric US (solar panels) mitsubishielectricsolar.com
Steam Room Equipment  ThermaSol thermasol.com
Windows  Fleetwood Windows & Doors fleetwoodusa.com