430 Pico Place, Santa Monica, Calif.

430 Pico Place, Santa Monica, Calif.

Credit: John Edward Linden


Brooks + Scarpa Architects 

Affordable housing might not be the first typology that springs to mind while strolling along the promenades of Santa Monica—given that the municipality has the highest rents  in southern California. Still, the beachside city wants to maintain socioeconomic diversity despite the ever-rising costs of living that have priced out many long-term residents. With the Brooks + Scarpa Architects-designed 430 Pico Place, the city, through a partnership with Community Corp . of Santa Monica, has added 32 new LEED Platinum affordable housing units less than a half a mile from the ocean. The Los Angeles–based  design firm arranged two- and three-bedroom dwellings—ranging from 760 to 1,025 square feet¬—around a shared courtyard shaded by fabric screens. Planted balconies line this outdoor space, which also has a sidewalk-level community room. “I think the interplay of the different scales of outdoor public space is really well done here,” said juror Gregory Hoss. Cary Bernstein added, “There's a very layered set of options for occupying the private spaces and the public spaces.” A street-facing frame ties the building volumes together while promoting natural ventilation through the dwelling area; built for $162 per square foot overall, 430 Pico Place proves that affordability and sustainability can work in tandem. 

Click here to see all of the winners of the 2014 Residential Architect Design Awards.

Outdoor circulation.

Outdoor circulation.

Credit: John Edward Linden


Shaded courtyard.

Shaded courtyard.

Credit: John Edward Linden


Outdoor circulation.

Outdoor circulation.

Credit: John Edward Linden


Street view.

Street view.

Credit: John Edward Linden


Pico Place view.

Pico Place view.

Credit: John Edward Linden



Project Credits

Project  430 Pico Place, Santa Monica, Calif.
Architect  Brooks + Scarpa Architects, Los Angeles—Lawrence Scarpa, FAIA, Angela Brooks, FAIA  (partners)
General Contractor  Morley Builders—Megan Folland
Developer  Community Corp. of Santa Monica—Sarah Letts
Land Planner  Brooks + Scarpa Architects
Landscape Architect   PEG Office of Landscape + Architecture—Karen M’Closkey
Interior Designer  Brooks + Scarpa Architects
Photography  John Linden
Project Size  41,000 square feet
Construction Cost  $162 per square foot

Materials and Sources

Bathroom Cabinets  Custom recycled formaldehyde-free MDF
Bathroom Fittings and Fixtures  American Standard americanstandard-us.com; Bobrick Washroom Equipment bobrick.com; Chicago Faucets chicagofaucets.com; Delta Faucet Co. deltafaucet.com; Kohler kohler.com; Toto USA totousa.com
Cooktop  General Electric ge.com
Dishwasher  General Electric ge.com
Doors  Anemostat anemostat.com; McKeon Door Co. mckeondoor.com; Nationwide Industries nationwideindustries.com; Steelcraft Manufacturing Co .; Timely Industries timelyframes.com; T.M. Cobb tmcobb.com; Total Door totaldoor.com
Exterior Siding  Cement  board, recycled Portland cement (exterior), cement plaster with integral finish
Flooring  Armstrong World Industries (natural linoleum) armstrong.com; Daltile daltile.com; Mohawk Industries (recycled-content residential carpet) mohawkflooring.com
Garage Doors  Overhead Door Corp. overheaddoor.com
Hardware  Elmes elmesworld.com; Ives iveshinges.com; Johnson Hardware johnsonhardware.com; LCN lcnclosers.com; Monarch; Pemko Manufacturing Co., an Assa Abloy Group Co. pemko.com; Rixson, an Assa Abloy Group Co. rixson.com; Schlage schlage.com; Trimco trimcobbw.com
Insulation   Johns Manville (recycled-content, formaldehyde-free batts) jm.com
Kitchen Cabinets  Custom recycled formaldehyde-free MDF
Kitchen Fittings and Fixtures  American Standard americanstandard-us.com; Bobrick Washroom Equipment bobrick.com; Chicago Faucets chicagofaucets.com; Delta Faucet Co. deltafaucet.com; Kohler kohler.com; Toto USA totousa.com
Lighting Fixtures  Cooper Lighting by Eaton, Halo cooperlighting.com; Capri Lighting (interior) caprilighting.com; Bega-US bega-us.com; Belfer belfer.com; Delray Lighting delraylighting.com; Prudential Lighting prulite.com; Cooper Lighting by Eaton, Shaper cooperindustries.com; Crescent/Stonco, a subsidiary of Philips Lighting (exterior) stonco.com
Paints and Finishes  Dunn-Edwards (Ecoshield low-VOC interior)   dunnedwards.com
Refrigerator  General Electric ge.com
Roofing  APOC  apoc.com; Celotex celotex.co.uk; CertainTeed Corp. (four-ply modified bitumen membrane cool roof) certainteed.com; GAF Corp. gaf.com; Grefco
Windows  Fleetwood Windows & Doors fleetwoodusa.com; Milgard Windows & Doors milgard.com; U.S. Aluminum usalum.com