Wood House, designed by Brininstool + Lynch.

Wood House, designed by Brininstool + Lynch.

Credit: Christopher Barrett


Brininstool + Lynch 

Brad Lynch of Chicago-based Brininstool + Lynch convinced his client that a new custom home would suit his needs better than the adapted warehouse he wanted with a tried and true method of architectural persuasion: the napkin sketch. Lynch used a limited palette of materials in his design for the 7,900-square-foot courtyard house, a design that combines industrial-sized spaces with the refined details of a bespoke home. Brick façades behind a Cor-Ten fence give way to warm wood-lined interiors, while granite pavers and ground-level glazing connect inhabitants to a landscaped central courtyard. Upstairs, copper privacy screens admit filtered light while repelling curious eyes. A third-floor guestroom and office open up to a partially planted roof deck with views to the courtyard below and to the surrounding Bucktown neighborhood. The jury responded to the high degree of craft evident in the Wood House, with juror Joel Sanders citing the virtues of “control, execution, implementation, and detail.” Juror Cary Bernstein agreed, adding that “the execution is really impeccable.”

Click here to see all of the winners of the 2014 Residential Architect Design Awards.

Internal courtyard.

Internal courtyard.

Credit: Christopher Barrett


Entry and terrace.

Entry and terrace.

Credit: Christopher Barrett


Living area.

Living area.

Credit: Christopher Barrett


Street view.

Street view.

Credit: Christopher Barrett


Bedroom, view of copper screen.

Bedroom, view of copper screen.

Credit: Christopher Barrett


Interior stair.

Interior stair.

Credit: Christopher Barrett


Drawings

Ground-Floor Plan.

Ground-Floor Plan.

Credit: Courtesy Brininstool + Lynch


Second-Floor Plan.

Second-Floor Plan.

Credit: Courtesy Brininstool + Lynch


Third-Floor Plan.

Third-Floor Plan.

Credit: Courtesy Brininstool + Lynch



Project Credits

Project  Wood House, Chicago
Architect  Brininstool + Lynch, Chicago—Brad Lynch
General Contractor  Goldberg General Contracting—Jake Goldberg
Structural Engineer  Goodfriend Magruder Structure—Bob Magruder
HVAC Engineer  Shawn Mansfield
Landscape Architect  Coen + Partners—Shane Coen
Photography  Christopher Barrett
Project Size  7,900 square feet
Construction Cost  $600 per square foot

Materials and Sources

Bathroom Cabinets  Boffi boffi.com
Bathroom Fittings  KWC kwc.us.com; Vola vola.com
Bathroom Fixtures  Kohler (undercounter sink) kohler.com; Gerberit (in-wall tank system) geberit.us; Toto (toilet) totousa.com
Cooktop  Gaggenau gaggenau.com
Countertops  Coldspring (Mesabi black granite) coldspringusa.com; DuPont Corian dupont.com
Dishwasher  Gaggenau gaggenau.com
Doors  Custom (interior); Fleetwood fleetwoodusa.com; Hopes hopeswindows.com
Flooring  Coldspring (Mesabi black granite) coldspringusa.com; Kaswell (end grain walnut block) kaswell.com; Paris Ceramics (Bulgarian limestone) parisceramicsusa.com
Garage Doors  Wayne Dalton wayne-dalton.com
Garbage Disposal  InSinkErator insinkerator.com
Hardware  C.R. Laurence Co.  crlaurence.com; FSB fsb.de; Häfele America Co. hafele.com; Ives ives.ingersollrand.com; Rockwood Manufacturing Co. rockwoodmfg.com
HVAC  The Unico System unicosystem.com
Insulation  Dow (styrofoam spray foam) building.dow.com
Kitchen Cabinets  Custom
Kitchen Fittings  KWC kwc.us.com
Kitchen Fixtures  Mila International mila-international.com
Lighting Fixtures  Bartco Lighting bartcolighting.com; Bega bega-us.com; Con-Tech Lighting con-techlighting.com; Prudential prulite.com; Traxon Technologies traxontechnologies.com; USAI usaillumination.com; Zumtobel www.zumtobel.us
Oven  Gaggenau gaggenau.com
Paints and Finishes  Benjamin Moore & Co. benjaminmoore.com; Brix (porcelain tile) brixweb.com; Daltile daltile.com
Refrigerator  Sub-Zero subzero-wolf.com
Roofing  GAF  gaf.com
Windows  Hopes hopeswindows.com; Loewen loewen.com; Oldcastle BuildingEnvelope oldcastlebe.com