Piersons Way, designed by Bates Masi + Architects.

Piersons Way, designed by Bates Masi + Architects.

Credit: Michael Moran


Bates Masi + Architects  

Modernism and mansion are two terms that would stand out amongst the small-scale conservative homes in this 19th century waterfront community in East Hampton, N.Y. So when Sag Harbor, N.Y.–based Bates Masi + Architects created a 7,400-square-foot home for a growing family, the team turned to a local typology for inspiration: the potato barn. The architects created a series of gabled volumes clad in Alaskan yellow shakes that house living and entertainment spaces on the ground floor, and family bedrooms on the second floor of the central volume. To minimize the scale of the house in the neighborhood, a false ground plane was created that brings the landscaping up from grade to the second-story windows, ensuring that the entire structure appears to be only a single story. “It integrates the landscape really well into the project all the way through,” juror Gregory Hoss said. Behind this false berm, the volumes open out onto a private lawn and pool where the true scale of the house is revealed. “This is one of those big luxury sprawling propositions that is just beautiful,” juror Josh Shelton said.

Click here to see all of the winners of the 2014 Residential Architect Design Awards.

Street view.

Street view.

Credit: Michael Moran


Second-floor exterior walkway.

Second-floor exterior walkway.

Credit: Michael Moran


Pool and courtyard.

Pool and courtyard.

Credit: Michael Moran


Kitchen and dining area.

Kitchen and dining area.

Credit: Michael Moran


Drawings

Site Plan.

Site Plan.

Credit: Courtesy Bates Masi + Architects


Floor Plans.

Floor Plans.

Credit: Courtesy Bates Masi + Architects



Project Credits

Project  Piersons Way, East Hampton, N.Y.
Architect  Bates Masi + Architects, Sag Harbor, N.Y.—Paul Masi, AIA
General Contractor  Men at Work Construction Corp.—Bill Costello
Landscape Architect  Bates Masi + Architects  
Interior Designer  Damon Liss
Photography  Michael Moran
Project Size  7,400 square feet
Construction Cost  Withheld

Materials and Sources

Bathroom Cabinets  Custom
Bathroom Fittings  Boffi boffi.com; Calazzo calazzo.com; Kallista kallista.com
Bathroom Fixtures  Kohler kohler.com; Toto USA totousa.com; Waterworks waterworks.com; Zuma Collection zumacollection.com
Cooktop  Wolf subzero-wolf.com
Countertops  Stone Source stonesource.com; Walker Zanger walkerzanger.com
Dishwasher  Miele mieleusa.com
Doors  Arcadia arcadiainc.com
Exterior Siding  Alaskan yellow cedar, Cor-Ten steel
Flooring  Valders Stone & Marble (limestone) valdersstone.com; Walker Zanger walkerzanger.com
Garage Doors  Custom
Garbage Disposal  InSinkErator insinkerator.com
Hardware  Grant hettich.com; Rajack Hardware rajack.com; Rocky Mountain Hardware rockymountainhardware.com; Sun Valley Bronze sunvalleybronze.com
Kitchen Cabinets  Custom
Kitchen Fittings  Kallista kallista.com
Kitchen Fixtures  Custom
Lighting Fixtures  B-K Lighting bklighting.com; Delta Light deltalight.com; Edge edgelighting.com; Element by Tech Lighting element-lighting.com; Engineered Lighting Products elplighting.com; LaMar Lighting lamarlighting.com; RAB Lighting rabweb.com
Oven  Wolf subzero-wolf.com
Paints and Finishes  Benjamin Moore & Co. benjaminmoore.com
Refrigerator  Sub-Zero subzero-wolf.com
Skylights  Westhampton Glass & Metal westhamptonglass.com
Windows  Arcadia arcadiainc.com; Westhampton Glass & Metal westhamptonglass.com