The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) recently announced the 2010 honorees in its highest professional awards program. They are:
ASLA Medal: Edward L. Daugherty, FASLA—Daugherty receives the society's highest honor for a landscape architect in recognition of his 50-year career, during which he became known for excellence. As a practitioner in Atlanta, he mentored generations of landscape architects, according to the society. His work includes the Georgia Governor's Mansion, Avon corporate headquarters, and a collaboration on the School for Continuing Education at the University of Georgia.

Landscape Architecture Firm Award: EDSA—Founded by Edward D. Stone Jr., FASLA, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.–based EDSA is recognized with the society's highest award given to a firm for extended excellence in influential work. EDSA’s diverse portfolio of projects in 90 countries is matched by the diversity of its staff, representing 25 countries. Among EDSA's notable projects are the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, PepsiCo World Headquarters, and Atlantis Resort.

ASLA Design Medal: James van Sweden, FASLA—van Sweden, co-founder of Oehme, van Sweden & Associates and an award-winning author, helped cultivate the "New American Garden" movement toward more naturalistic, four-season landscapes evocative of the American meadow movement of Jens Jensen. His work includes hundreds of residential projects, the World War II Memorial on the National Mall, and Boston's North Point Park.

Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: John F. Collins, FASLA—This award recognizes Collins' sustained excellence in landscape architecture education, through which he has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to educating young professionals by serving as a lecturer, professor, and visiting studio critic at several major landscape architecture schools, as well as creating community and teaching gardens for public school children in Philadelphia and establishing a program to teach urban horticulture skills to prison inmates.

LaGasse Medal: William L. Fluornoy Jr., FASLA—Fluornoy is recognized for his contributions to the management and conservancy of natural resources and public landscapes through his work with the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources and numerous conservation projects.

Olmsted Medal: The Honorable Ken Salazar—Salazar is recognized for his environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. As Colorado Attorney General, a U.S. Senator, and now as the U.S. Secretary of the Interior, Salazar has fought to protect the country's public lands and has consistently worked to balance and resolve complex environmental policy issues that protect our natural resources.

Community Service Award: Achva Stein, FASLA—Stein, currently director of the City College of New York's Landscape Architecture Program, regularly contributes her skills and those of her students to communities that can't afford professional landscape architecture services. She has created dozens of pro bono projects around the country throughout her career, helping to revitalize struggling communities and share the benefits of landscape architecture.

The awards and medals will be bestowed during the ASLA Annual Meeting and Expoweaetxdyvaydzcwq, Sept. 1013 in Washington, D.C.